EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held on 6 February 2020

PRESENT: Independent Members

Mr John R Jones (Chair)

Mr Thomas Rhys Davies (Vice-Chair)

Mrs Celyn Menai Edwards

Mrs Gill Murgatroyd Mrs Sharon Warnes

Representing Town and Community Councils

Councillor Keith Roberts

IN ATTENDANCE: Solicitor (Corporate Governance) (MY)

Committee Officer (SC)

APOLOGIES: Councillor Iorwerth Roberts (Town and Community Councils)

Councillors J Arwel Roberts, Dafydd Rhys Thomas

1. CHAIR FOR THE MEETING

Mr John R Jones was appointed Chair for the meeting.

2. MINUTES OF THE MEETING

The draft minutes of the Standards Committee held on 17 September 2019 were presented to Committee.

The Solicitor (Corporate Governance) explained that there was insufficient quorum present to approve the minutes of the Standards Committee held on 17 September 2019, as only two members from the previous meeting were present, namely the Chair and Councillor Keith Roberts. She stated that three attendees from the previous meeting were required to confirm the minutes as a true record.

The draft minutes will be presented to the next meeting of the Standards Committee on 11 March 2020 for the Committee's confirmation. The Chair and Councillor Roberts confirmed that, in their opinion, the minutes were correct.

The Solicitor (Corporate Governance) reported that she has sent a "matters arising" document to all members of the Standards Committee detailing the actions which have been taken in accordance with the minutes of the meeting held on 17 September 2019.

CC-022335/544773

The Solicitor (Corporate Governance) referred to Item 11 of the minutes - 'North Wales Standards Committee Forum Report'. An email has been shared with the Standards Committee members in relation to the next Forum meeting and any items to be suggested for its agenda.

3. DECLARATION OF INTEREST

No declaration of interest was received.

4. ELECTION OF CHAIR

Submitted - a report by the Solicitor (Corporate Governance) on the procedure to elect a Chair of the Standards Committee in accordance with the Standards Committee (Wales) Regulations 2001 and Paragraph 2.9.2.6.2 of the Council's Constitution.

The Solicitor (Corporate Governance) reported that the Standards Committee shall elect a Chairperson from amongst its independent members. Each member of the Committee has a vote. The Chair shall be elected for a term of four years, or until the independent member's term of office on the Standards Committee expires. The Chair will also be eligible for re-election.

RESOLVED to elect Mr John R Jones as Chair of the Standards Committee for a term of four years (subject to re-election).

Action: See Resolution above

The Chair thanked the Standards Committee for their confidence in electing him as Chair, and he stated that he would endeavour to do his best in the role. He welcomed the Committee's support, and looked forward to working as a team, with officer assistance. The Chair is conscious that he intends to serve one term only, so as to allow a smooth transition between any future independent members that may be appointed Chair of the Committee.

5. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

Submitted - a report by the Solicitor (Corporate Governance) on the procedure to elect a Vice-Chair of the Standards Committee in accordance with the Standards Committee (Wales) Regulations 2001.

The Solicitor (Corporate Governance) reported that the Standards Committee shall elect a Vice-Chairperson from amongst its independent members for a term of four years or until the independent member's term of office on the Standards Committee expires. The Vice-Chair will also be eligible for reelection. Each member of the Committee has a vote.

Discussion focused on whether the Committee should consider a lesser term than four years for the Vice-Chair's role. The Solicitor (Corporate Governance) explained that the Standards Committee's decision had to be made within the

statutory and constitutional boundaries. Any change to the Vice-Chair's term would require an amendment to the Council's Constitution and this required a decision by full Council.

RESOLVED to elect Mr Thomas Rhys Davies as Vice-Chair of the Standards Committee for a term of four years (subject to re-election).

The meeting concluded at 1.40 pm

MR JOHN R JONES
CHAIR